virtual clinic

The stages of treatment:

– By glasses then by contact lenses more and more,

– By UV CXL irradiation before or after,

– The surgical stage of which there are several modalities.

The choice depends on the severity of the disease and the visual imperatives. In general, it is important to distinguish between the rough forms that are fairly easily corrected and the evolutionary or evolved forms that are the source of many attempts.

Therapeutic principles

virtual clinic

1 – Optical correction by glasses
Prescription glasses is often difficult and requires lengthy trial and error.

2 – Optical correction by contact lenses
The contact lens is the classic correction mode of keratoconus, but it should not be adapted too early, when the solution by glasses is acceptable, that is to say giving good visual acuity.

When the peripheral part of the cornea not reached by the cone presents astigmatic deformations, the limits of the spectacle correction have been reached. Only expert doctors can equip the advanced stages, because the experience takes precedence.

Twin lenses
The interest of this type of lens is improved comfort due to the presence of the peripheral soft lens. It is difficult to obtain a stable junction zone between two materials of very different chemical nature.

Rigid lenses
The materials used today are very efficient, the reproducibility of excellent lenses. The finishing and polishing of these lenses is no longer a problem.

Research on the possibility of recovery or surface treatment improving the comfort of these is underway.

Customized lenses
The development of explorations of the ocular system by aberrometry allows a better apprehension of the visual quality of the patients. These works are, in the immediate future, oriented towards soft lenses.

3 – Superficial corneal photoablation PKR
If the lasik is cons indicated, this is not the case of frust or suspicious forms that can be processed in PKR, most often associated with simultaneous or offset cross linking. We now know that the risk is extremely low if the indication is well posed.

virtual clinic

4 – The transplant of the cornea
The indication of DEEP LAMELLAR keratoplasty is logical when the patient can not obtain useful vision with contact lenses because of central or paracentral opacity. As the endothelium is normal it is useless, in the majority of cases, to go to the transfixant keratoplasty.

However, the complexity of producing the lamellar makes the transfixant keratoplasty possible if the lamellar fails, which is not rare technically.Frequent indication is contact lens intolerance possibly associated with opacification of the top of the cone in the visual axis or within 1 mm of it.

virtual clinic

 

The cornea is a transparent tissue of the eye enjoying an “immune privilege” due to the absence of vessels. This tissue is therefore most often relatively “unknown” of the recognition and defense system of the body, allowing a tissue exchange between individuals in optimal conditions.

The transplant is well tolerated in 90% of cases. The risk of rejection is permanent. The waiting list is not very long. The graft can be kept one week at a temperature of 4 degrees, or a month at 31 degrees; in special circles. Its quality is controlled in specialized eye banks, under the authority of the French Eye Bank and the French Transplant Institution.

A very strict list of criteria must be observed to carry out the sampling in order to guarantee the biological safety of the fabric. Final visual recovery takes up to a year to reach a time to remove the sutures.

Postoperative treatment usually includes cortisone eye drops for a period of two months to one year. Monitoring every two months for one year, then every six months is a good guarantee of graft survival. Sometimes, immunosuppressive treatment may be associated in high-risk transplants (cyclosporine …).

Recently the femtosecond laser allows these grafts in a less random way because the permanent danger, even with the best surgeon, is to perforate the posterior plane. This risk is almost eliminated with the laser.

The keratoconus transfixing keratoplasty is losing speed because it poses a risk of rejection and it makes it necessary to transplant the endothelium which is still healthy in this affection but it remains of certain indication when the cornea has a very strong astigmatism.

With this process we can expect a visual acuity of 6/10 after 2 years. You should know that it is sometimes necessary to put lenses on an operated eye, to improve the vision. In all cases visual recovery is very slow from 1 to 2 years.

Keratoplasty by the Keraflex XXL System
The device delivers pulses retracting a fraction of the corneal tissue, without ablation, so as to reshape the shape of the cornea. The process is in investigation.

Ask for your personalized quote

traitement keratocone

 

virtual clinicLes étapes du traitement :

– Par lunettes puis par lentilles de contact de plus en plus,

– Par une irradiation UV CXL avant ou après,

– Le stade chirurgical dont  il existe plusieurs modalités.

Le choix dépend de la sévérité de la maladie et des impératifs visuels. D’une façon générale il importe de distinguer les formes frustes qui sont assez aisément corrigées et les formes évolutives ou évoluées source de nombreuses tentatives.

Principes thérapeutiques

virtual clinic

1 – La correction optique par lunettes
La prescription de lunettes est souvent difficile et demande de longs tâtonnements.

2 – La correction optique par lentilles de contact
La lentille de contact est le mode de correction classique du kératocône, mais il ne faut pas adapter trop tôt, quand la solution par lunettes est acceptable, c’est-à-dire donnant une bonne acuité visuelle.

Lorsque la partie périphérique de la cornée non atteinte par le cône, présente des déformations astigmates, on a atteint les limites de la correction par lunettes. Seuls des médecins experts peuvent bien équiper les stades avancés, car l’expérience prime.

Les lentilles jumelées
L’intérêt de ce type de lentille est un confort amélioré du fait de la présence de la lentille souple périphérique.  Il est ardu d’obtenir une zone de jonction stable entre deux matériaux de nature chimique très différente.

Les lentilles rigides
Les matériaux utilisés actuellement sont très performants, la reproductibilité des lentilles excellentes. Les finitions et polissages de ces lentilles ne posent plus de problème.

Des travaux de recherche sur la possibilité d’un recouvrement ou de traitement de surface améliorant le confort de celles-ci sont en cours.

Les lentilles customisées
Le développement des explorations du système oculaire par aberrométrie permet une meilleure appréhension de la qualité visuelle des patients. Ces travaux sont, dans l’immédiat, orientés vers les lentilles souples.

3 – La photoablation cornéenne superficielle PKR
Si le lasik est contre indiqué telle n’est pas le cas de formes frusts ou suspectes qui peuvent être traitées en PKR, le plus souvent associée à un cross linking simultané ou décalé. On sait aujourd’hui que le risque est extrêmement faible pour peu que l’indication soit bien posée.

virtual clinic

4 – La greffe de la cornée
L’indication de kératoplastie LAMELLAIRE PROFONDE est logique lorsque le patient ne peut obtenir une vision utile avec lentilles de contact en raison d’opacité centrale ou paracentrale. Comme l’endothelium est normal il est inutile, dans la majorité des cas, d’aller à la kératoplastie transfixiante.

Toutefois la complexité de réalisation de la lamellaire rend la kératoplastie transfixiante possible si la lamellaire échoue ce qui n’est pas rare techniquement. L’indication fréquente est l’intolérance aux lentilles de contact éventuellement associée à une opacification du sommet du cône dans l’axe visuel ou à moins de 1 mm de celui-ci.

virtual clinic

 

La cornée est un tissu transparent de l’œil bénéficiant d’un « privilège immunitaire » en raison de l’absence de vaisseaux. Ce tissu est donc le plus souvent relativement « inconnu » du système de reconnaissance et de défense de l’organisme, permettant un échange de tissu entre individus dans des conditions optimales.

La greffe est bien tolérée dans 90 % des cas. Le risque de rejet est permanent. La liste d’attente n’est plus très longue. Le greffon peut être conservé une semaine à la température de 4 degrés, ou un mois à 31 degrés ; dans des milieux spéciaux. Sa qualité est contrôlée dans des banques des yeux spécialisées, sous l’autorité de la Banque Française des Yeux et de l’Établissement Français des Greffes.

Une liste très stricte de critères doit être respectée pour effectuer le prélèvement afin de garantir la sécurité biologique du tissu. La récupération visuelle définitive demande jusqu’à un an pour arriver à un délai permettant d’enlever les sutures.

Le traitement postopératoire comporte habituellement un collyre cortisone pendant une durée de deux mois à un an. Une surveillance tous les deux mois pendant un an, puis tous les six mois est une bonne garantie de survie du greffon. Parfois, un traitement immunosuppresseur peut être associé dans les greffes à haut risque (cyclosporine …).

Depuis peu le laser femtoseconde autorise ces greffes de façon moins aléatoire car le danger permanent, même avec le meilleur chirurgien, est de perforer le plan postérieur. Ce risque est quasi supprimé avec le laser.

La kératoplastie transfixiante pour kératocône est en perte de vitesse car elle expose à un risque de rejet et elle oblige à transplanter l’endothélium qui est toujours sain dans cette affection mais elle demeure d’indication certaine lorsque la cornée a un très fort astigmatisme.

Avec ce procédé on peut espérer une acuité visuelle de 6/10 au terme de 2 ans. Il faut savoir qu’il est parfois nécessaire de remettre des lentilles sur un œil opéré, pour améliorer la vision. Dans tous les cas de figure la récupération visuelle est très lente de 1 à 2 ans.

La kératoplastie par le système Keraflex XXL
L’appareil délivre des impulsions rétractant une fraction du tissu cornéen, sans ablation, de façon à remodeler la forme de la cornée. Le procédé est en investigation.

Demandez votre devis personnalisé